It’s quite likely that at some stage you’ll come across a yellow message bar in SharePoint that attempts to notify you when individual or unique permissions have been made at a file or item level. This Microsoft article explains what the messages mean.
When you go to the Permissions page, you may see one or more messages at the top of the page like this:
Join the 'Excel at Work Insiders' group today!
100% free. Join now and unlock offers exclusive to this group!
Receive tips and guidance to help you SAVE TIME, WORK SMARTER and IMPROVE YOUR UNDERSTANDING of Microsoft® Office.
Here’s what each message means:
Some items of this list may have unique permissions which are not controlled from this page. Show these items. This means that, at some time in the past, an individual item within the list, library, or survey was shared with others. When you click Show these items, you will see an Exceptions dialog box showing which items they are. If you are an owner of the item, click Manage permissions for each one to make changes.
There are limited access users on this site. Users may have limited access if an item or document under the site has been shared with them. Show users. This means that if an item has been shared with a user, but the entire list, library, or survey has not, then their access is limited to the one item that has been shared with them. Click Show users to see who they are.
This library inherits permissions from its parent. (name of site). This means that inheritance has not yet been broken for the list, library, or survey.
If you found this post helpful please ‘Like’ us!
If you enjoyed this you may also enjoy